Powered by DexConnect

⦁ Chevening Scholarship

Eligibility: College Graduates
Deadline: November 02, 2021
Link: bit.ly/cheveningindiascholarship

Suggested Resources:

MIT’s Guide to Writing Effective Essays: bit.ly/mitessayguide
Stanford’s Guide to Resume and Cover Letters: bit.ly/resumeprep2

Chevening is the UK Government’s global scholarship programme that offers future leaders the unique opportunity to pursue a fully funded one-year master’s degree in any subject at any UK university. Applicants will need to submit academic transcripts, essays, two reference letters and must have at least two years of work experience. The scholarship will cover full university tuition fees, a monthly stipend, travel cost and costs of visa application

⦁ New York Times Personal Narrative Writing Contest

Eligibility: 11 – 19 years
Deadline: November 17, 2021
Link: bit.ly/nytnarrativecontest

Suggested Resources:

New York Times Narrative Writing Guide: bit.ly/narrativewritingguide
Previous Year Winning Essays: bit.ly/pastwinningessays

Students are invited to submit a short, powerful, true story about a specific experience, event or incident from their lives. Submissions should not be of more than 600 words. Winning entries will be published on The Learning Network and become eligible to be published in the print New York Times

⦁ Smithsonian Magazine Photo Contest

Eligibility: 18 years or above
Deadline: November 30, 2021
Link: bit.ly/smithsonianphotocontest

Suggested Resources:

Photography Guidebook: bit.ly/photographyguidebook

Photographs can be submitted in any of the six categories – Natural World, Travel, People, The American Experience, Altered Images and Mobile. Participants can submit up to 15 photographs per category. The grand prize winner will receive USD 2,500 in prize money and six category winners will receive USD 500 each

⦁ The New York Times Annual Student Review Contest

Eligibility: 11 – 19 Years
Deadline: December 15, 2021
Link: bit.ly/nytstudentreview

Suggested Resources:

The New York Times Guide to Review Writing: bit.ly/reviewwritingguide

The contest invites students to play critic and write an original review for a book, movie, music, TV show, restaurant etc. The review must be fewer than 450 words and must express an opinion – whether positive or negative. Winners will have their work published on The Learning Network and become eligible to be chosen to have their work published in the print New York Times.

⦁ New Media Writing Prize

Eligibility: Open to all
Deadline: December 17, 2021
Link: bit.ly/newmediawritingprize

Suggested Resources:

Harvard’s Guide to Storytelling: bit.ly/storytellingguidebook
New York Times Short Story Guide: bit.ly/nytshortstoryguide

The prize aims to celebrate exciting stories and poetry that integrate a variety of formats, platforms, and digital media. Participants can submit a short story, novel, poem, narrative game, documentary, or transmedia work using words, images, film or animation. Entries can be submitted through the online form and all submissions must include a short biography of the writer. The grand prize winner will receive 1,000 Pounds in cash prize.

⦁ Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship

Eligibility: Women Graduates
Deadline: January 15, 2022
Link: bit.ly/dorothyfellowship

Suggested Resources:

Stanford’s Guide to Writing Statements of Purpose: bit.ly/stanfordsopguide
Stanford’s Guide to Resume and Cover Letters: bit.ly/resumeprep2

The International Peace Research Association Foundation is inviting applications for the Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship in Peace and Development Studies for Women. Applicants must have been accepted to a graduate program and will need to submit 3 letters of recommendation along with the fellowship application. Selected fellows will receive USD 5,000 per year for school expenses upto a period of two years.

⦁ IBM Master The Mainframe Challenge

Eligibility: Above 13 Years
Deadline: January 17, 2022
Link: bit.ly/ibmmainframecontest

Suggested Resources:

Harvard’s Introduction to Computer Science: bit.ly/harvardcodingcourse
Google’s Guide to Programming: bit.ly/foundationsofprogramming

The contest consists of three levels – level one helps students learn the fundamentals of the mainframe; level two builds on the fundamentals by teaching how to program with modern languages; and level three puts participants to test in a “real world” situation. Winners from each region will receive a USD 2,500 travel stipend to visit an IBM event and three global winners will receive USD 3,000 each as an educational scholarship.